1. To embrace eternity

October is the month of the death of Hephaistion Amintoros, General and close friend of Alexander the Great. This is my first “tribute to Hephaistion 2014”.

_____________________

TO EMBRACE ETERNITY

You liked so much to take me in your arms.
Finding in this place a refuge to your doubt.
I close my eyes, and yes, I remember…

I could still feel your hands grabbing me.
As if your life depended on this.
As if you took heart in a so simple gesture.

We shared whispering words
That was only ours.
Feeling the warmth of our bodies.

But now… now I feel so feeble,
I search around me in vain.
Only the dark and the cold, I feel.

Clouds in my eyes, rain in my heart.
Through a screen of confusion, a ghost,
A breath in the wind.

I close my eyes again and smile
You are there, I know.
Your warmth on my skin.

I feel your arms around me.
These arms, I missed so much.
Your hands grabbing me so tight.

These hands say to give up all behind me.
My ambition and my empire too. You are right.
I feel so exhausted. It is time to go home.

Your face appears clearly now in front of me.
Your eyes, full of Azur, say the tenderness.
Your smile the reassurance I need.

Holding out your hand, you wait in silence.
Lying on my bed, I can heard the aigle’s shout.
Father, I am ready now and not afraid anymore.

Taking off your ring, in a last offering,
Holding out this one to you, I take your hand.
But I feel a confused regret, as if I lost something.

Turning over for a last gaze, I look beneath us.
My companions, my men, my wives crying.
My corpse. A soft pain tightens my heart.

I feel your hands on my face, I look in your eyes.
Yes, you are right. No more regret. I am so tired.
I just need your arms around me.

Your shoulder where I can put my head to forget.
I close my eyes. No more war. No more fight.
It is time to rest in peace.

Leave a Reply

